Inspiration Board: Bohemian (n.) /boh-hee-mee-uhn/

Bohemian inspiration board

This is an inspiration board I created to channel my interest in the bohemian lifestyle. Lately, this idea of being Bohemian has been influencing my ideas, art, and designs. There is rich colors, fabric, textures and layers that add so much depth that I really love about this style. In the definition above, it says that a “Bohemian” is a person, as an artist or writer, who lives and acts free of regards for conventional rules and practices, one who lives a wandering life as a vagabond or gypsy. An open-minded thinker”. I love the idea of expressing yourself free from rules and conventional in order to be exactly who you want to be. If you all haven’t guessed already, I obviously love the idea of the bohemian lifestyle and foresee it continuing to influence my life and art. The collage above is a pretty decent representation of my favorite color pallet and the type of richness I like to bring to my designs. When I think of bohemian, I think of long, flowing silhouettes, spice markets,  free flowing hair and manes, layers of skirts, dresses, jewelry – all embroidered… It all sounds very wonderful, rogue and romantic. I am going to continue allowing this bohemian style to take over my designing and daily research. I hope to incorporate it into a project and create something… you all will just have to see what I come up with!

Hope you all had a great hump day! I spent my hump day patterning/building a bathing suit. It was all very exciting!

Cheers,

Sylvia

 

Leave a comment

