$20, and a Stranger on the Bus

The other night I was coming back from an acoustic music set at the Black Squirrel in Adams Morgan. I got on the bus in DuPont, headed home. It was almost midnight. There was only one other person on the bus, a man in his mid forties.

A few minutes into the bus ride, he asked me if I had change for a twenty to pay the bus fare. The buses don’t give change, so he didn’t want to use a twenty. I didn’t have change, but I had $2, so I gave it to him.

“No no,” he said. “You don’t have to pay for it.”

“It’s ok, take it,” I said. “Don’t even worry.”

When he got off the bus, he paid his fare with the two dollar bills I gave him. He came back to where I was sitting, dropped the $20 in my lap and said, “I’m going to give this to you.”

“No no,” I said. “It’s really ok. It’s not a big deal.”

“I’m going to leave it there,” he said, and he walked off.

The craziest, most thoughtful things happen sometimes. People can be so amazing.

Leave a comment

