Backstage at the 9:30 Club

Last weekend I had the enormous privilege of seeing musicians from the 9 Songwriter Series play at the 9:30 club. I arrived late, without a ticket, and was stalled and questioned at the door, but I successfully convinced the bouncer to let me in because my friend Louisa Hall was playing RIGHT AT THAT SECOND, I could HEAR her, and I explained rather forcefully that I NEEDED to see her. After additional pleas and negotiations which will remain top secret, I bounded in the door and up the stairs to the balcony where I saw Louisa and some others of the 9, just in time.

I’ve written about the 9 before, and this is because it’s truly a great group of talented musicians. Apart from that, I’m friends with some of them, so that’s an added bonus (lucky, right?). But I never would have guessed that the 9 would have played at the 9:30 Club. Nor that I would get to go backstage, up to the balcony behind the stage, and look out across the entire club where all my friends had made their mark.

Amazing things happen sometimes.

Louisa and Kevin de Souza and Justin Trawick and all the other 9 songwriters, including those of you who were on the side, there in support of everyone else — you are fantastic.

Here’s Kevin leading the audience in “One More Good Thing.” The video’s a bit shaky because – no surprise here – I was dancing. You can hear and purchase the original here.

Thanks, 9 songwriters, for being so awesome. Here’s to you guys. You are living my dream.

Leave a comment

