What you will do if you’re at a friend’s in Mt. Pleasant and it’s 4:00 in the morning

Last Saturday I ended up, impromptu, in Mt. Pleasant. I was riding the 64 down 11th Street when my friend Santi texted me, and wouldn’t you know it but I was right at the cross street for his house.

So off the bus I went, because serendipitous coincidences should always be taken advantage of.

I love music, even at 4:00 in the morning when I’m too exhausted to even think properly. And do you know what we did? We sat around outside and played confusing spelling games for a while and then lay down in Santi’s living room and played Mahler at top volume. Santi’s friend Andrei had played earlier in an orchestral performance and was enraptured by Symphony No. 1. He was still in his black concert clothes.

We lay there, the three of us, air conducting and marveling over the nuances of Mahler. We lay there a full hour, just quietly talking and listening to that music.

Do you know what Santi did the first time I met him? We sat around listening to recordings of jazz pianists and then drank coffee on the back patio. When Santi drove me home, he asked, “What do you want to listen to?” And before I could respond, he said, “Oh! I know what we’ll listen to.” And he put on Ravel. Ravel, in the middle of the night, while we were speeding through deserted Rock Creek Park.

Incredible. When else would we listen to symphonic orchestras at top volume? I love the nighttime for times like these.

Leave a comment

